Southampton Pub News Archive 2009


Friday 13th November 2009
A New venue has opened in Portswood, The Trago Lounge has opened in Portswood, more details at The Morning Advertiser.
Friday 23rd October 2009
The Crown in the High Street of Shirley has now under new management with a new webpage: View the Website
Thursday 22nd October 2009
The Frog & Frigate which has been closed since mid summer will reopen 30th October 2009 View the Website
Friday 25th September 2009
The Plume of Feathers has refurbished it's Sports Bar and opened a new website: View the Website
Tuesday 8th September 2009
Ocean & Collins Bar and Club has closed for a refurbishment but, it will reopen on the 12th September with the new name Bliss Clubrooms
Tuesday 7th July 2009
The famous Frog & Frigate pub in Canute Road has had to Close. This popular late night bar will be sorely missed but will hopefully reopen soon.
Wednesday 1st July 2009
The Rover Pub in Shirley has re opened after a period of closure due to unpaid bill from a previous tenancy of the pub.
Friday 1st May 2009
The latest pub due to close because of the recent reccession is Chambers in London Road for more details please read this story from the This is Hampshire.
Wednesday 29th April 2009
The Saints Pub now under new ownership. The new owners intend to refurbish the pub, full details can be found here (The Echo)
Sunday 29th March 2009
The latest pub due to close because of the recent reccession is the Ferryman and Firkin for more details please read this story from the This is Hampshire.
Thursday 12th March 2009
The Kolbeka Bar in the popular Bevois Valley is undergoing a name change, with a launch Night on the 15th March this lively pub will be changing it's name to The Shooting Star.
Wednesday 4th March 2009
A Regular at the Junction Inn Celebrates 50 years at the pub with a suprise award from the landlord and landlady
Read the full story at The Daily Echo
Friday 14th January 2009
The Historic pub known as the Grapes in Oxford Street seems to be the latest victim of the ecomnomic downturn. It seems after a hundred and fifty three years since being established the pub can no longer afford the soaring costs. More information here. [Hampshire Chronicle]

southampton-pubs.co.uk